Facebook has rolled out its simpler and more accessible privacy tool. It’s on the top right corner of the Facebook toolbar, squeezed among the “Profile,” “Home,” and “Account” buttons. The Palo Alto, CA company has done its job to make it easier for you to protect your account, and it’s about time you do your part to maintain your privacy in this popular social media site.
There are a few things you need to know about the new privacy settings button. Read on and find out about them in the succeeding text.
This shortcut will show you more options when clicked upon. This was put on top of the other privacy choices because this might be the most important shortcut button for you to protect your account. Here are some actions you’ll see once you click the “Who can see my stuff?”button:
The “Who can contact me” button allows you to arrange your messages and friend request options easily. There are more options offered on who can reach you through your Facebook account, and who can only call you through your business telephone if you don’t want them to send you a message online.
Whose messages do I want filtered into my Inbox: This one is a little tricky. There are two options here, the “Basic” filtering and the “Strict” filtering. If you select the basic option, you will be notified of messages that people tagged you in more, even if they are just friends of your friends and people you may know. Facebook recommends this option to de-clutter your inbox. Messages from other people will go the “Other” folder if Facebook doesn’t deem the message to be from someone you are familiar with. Strict filtering, on the other hand, will only allow you to see your friends’ messages in your inbox. If your second degree friends tag you in a message, you might automatically see it in the “Other” message folder.
If you have a stalker or a personal nemesis that you want out of your entire Facebook life, then type in their Facebook name or email address on the field within the block tool and they won’t be allowed to see your profile and other details. It may seem that your account doesn’t exist when they try to search you.